General Information

The conference is organized by the Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (IAC) and will be held from 12-16 June, 2006 at Hotel H10 Taburiente Playa, Los Cancajos, La Palma, Canary Islands, Spain.  See a static map of La Palma or in Google Maps. The Second Announcement with full information is available in PDF format.

Results of the questionnaire (PDF)

Scientific Rationale

The metal-rich Universe can shed new lights on very topical subjects, extending and complementing our knowledge of the physical processes that are more commonly studied at solar and low metallicities. Among those processes and problems we may cite the following ones:

The Metal Rich Universe Official Poster

Whereas several conferences on metal poor stars have been organized in the last few years, none on metal rich stars has been held in spite of recent progresses in the field. In this conference the different aspects related to the above issues will be addressed. More specifically, the latest observations of metal rich stars (in the field, clusters, bulge, planet hosts etc.) will be presented.  On the theoretical side, models atmospheres and spectral line formation, models of star formation and stellar evolution nucleosynthesis at high [Fe/H] will be discussed and uncertainties examined.

Main topics

Meeting Schedule and Format

Scientific sessions will take place from Monday, June 12th, through Friday, June 16th, with a maximum of 150 participants. The format of the conference will be organized with a total of 8 sessions of 4 hours each. Invited Reviews of 30 minutes including discussion and Contributed Talks of 20 minutes.  Poster presentations will be exposed during the whole meeting.

Conference Venue and Facilities

The conference will take place at the conference centre of the Hotel H10 Taburiente Playa, where the participants are accommodated. This hotel has full facilities for conference users including:


Financial support is provided by the IAC.  Additional support has been provided by the Excmo. Cabildo Insular de La Palma (La Palma local government), the Patronato de Turismo de La Palma (La Palma tourist board), DISA Corporación Petrolífera, S.A., and the Banco Bilbao Vizcaya Argentaria (BBVA).