The Canarian Archipelago

Physically Las Islas Canarias fall into two groups. The western group, made up of La Palma, El Hierro, La Gomera, Tenerife and Gran Canaria, consists of mountain peaks that rise directly from a deep ocean floor. The eastern group comprises Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and the six islets surmointing a single submarine plateau (the Canary Ridge) that rises 1400 m from the ocean floor. Las Islas Canarias were formed by volcanic eruptions millions of years ago. All the western islands exceed 1200 m at their highest points, with Teide peak (a volcano on Tenerife) rising 3718 m (the highest point on Spanish soil).

Home || Preliminary announcement || Preliminary registration form || Location of the Islands || Weather satellite images and movie

Last modified: Wed Oct 21 19:57:18 WET DST 1998